Martha Argerich Plays Schumann Piano Concerto in A minor / Liszt Funerailles / Ravel Jeux d'Eau

Our Price: R 700.00
Retail Price: R 952.00
You Save: R 252.00
Delivery Time: 7 to 15 Working Days
Format: DVD
Imported: USA
Sign up with Wantitall today and get R50 off your first order!Enhance your order by adding 2 accessories below to your cart,receive FREE DELIVERY!
Enhance Your Order
Nobel Prize Concert: Martha Argerich; Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra; Yuri Temirkanov - Ravel, Prokofiev, Chopin, Shostakovich
R 680.00
A Martha Argerich Celebration - Martha Argerich plays Tchaikovsky & Prokofiev
R 583.00
Martha Argerich: Live at Verbier Festival - Bach/Mozart/Grieg/Bartok/Lutoslawski/Shostakovich
R 732.00
Martha Argerich - Evening Talks
R 724.00
Mendelssohn in Verbier - Piano Sextet / Piano Cto
R 578.00

Movie Details
  • Format: Multiple Formats
  • Region Code: 0
  • Manufacturer: Video Artists Int'l
  • Release Date: 2001-10-09

Product Features
  • Languages: English
  • Quantity: 1
  • Publication date: 2008
  • Publisher: Video Artists Int'l
  • Age restriction: NR (Not Rated)
Click to view enlarged image
Martha Argerich Plays Schumann Piano Concerto in A minor / Liszt Funerailles / Ravel Jeux d'Eau
2 pictures available.
Product Description
This concert, by Martha Argerich, is the 1976 performance of the Schumann Piano Concerto, Liszt's Funerailles and Ravel's Jeux d'eau.
There is not much video documentation of the great pianist Martha Argerich in her prime, so it is fortunate that this program, taped for Canadian television in 1977, gives a three-dimensional view of her various strengths. Ravel's Jeux d'Eau, which translates a fountain's flow and glitter into piano music, exemplifies the quality that most people notice first in her playing: dexterity and precision at breathtaking speeds. But there is also a fine awareness of the music's descriptive power. Liszt's moody Les Funerailles, in contrast, requires the ability to hold the music together as a coherent structure at very slow speeds, evoking a carefully defined atmosphere. This, too, she does splendidly.

But the heart of the program is Schumann's Concerto in A Minor, one of the 19th century's greatest works in that form, rich in virtuoso display and heart-on-sleeve emotion and requiring fine rapport between soloist and orchestra. This disc fulfills all the music's potentials. --Joe McLellan

WantItAll (Pty) Ltd 2005 - 2017 | 49 Galaxy Ave, Linbro Park, Gauteng, 2091, South Africa | Company Reg No. 2007/024936/07 | VAT No. 4920242924